The Hertog Foundation Announces Winter 2024 Humanities at Hertog Fellows

January 3, 2024 – The Hertog Foundation announced 60 fellows for its 2024 Humanities at Hertog Fellowships. Our Humanities fellows will spend their January studying great works of literature alongside outstanding peers and a passionate teacher.

Works by Fyodor Dostoevsky, Herman Melville, Edith Wharton, and the Romantic poets will anchor the four online seminars. Capped at 15 fellows, each course offers lively conversation about the fundamental human questions raised by literary texts. The seminars are fully subsidized by the Foundation, including all course materials and a stipend to support fellows’ study.

  • The Humanities program is open to undergraduate and graduate students, as well as young professionals.
  • 230 individuals, representing 142 colleges and universities, applied for a Winter Fellowship. The average GPA was 3.72.
  • Our 60 fellows this year include a Nigerian physics student awarded a Presidential Scholarship by Villanova University, a professional ballet dancer with the Indianapolis Ballet, a Fulbright Scholar from Canada studying at Johns Hopkins SAIS, and a national debate champion at Hillsdale College.
  • Our fellows represent 47 different colleges and universities, with an average GPA of 3.82.
  • Top performing institutions include Hillsdale College, University of Texas-Austin, Harvard University, and Stanford University.

Congratulations to those institutions and to all whose students were selected as fellows this year! A full list of Winter Humanities Fellows can be found below.

This year, the Foundation will expand the Humanities program to offer online seminars year-round on great texts across disciplines. Leading the effort is Dr. Mary Elizabeth Halper, dean of the Humanities program and a tutor at St. John’s College, Annapolis.

Dr. Halper will offer an online seminar next Spring on Emily Wilson’s translation of the Iliad. Humanities at Hertog will also offer a course with acclaimed novelist and journalist Boris Fishman on creative non-fiction writing and politics. The deadline for these online courses is January 15, 2024.

Learn more about our offerings at

2024 Humanities at Hertog Fellows

Dostoevsky’s Crime & Punishment:

Parker Briggs, Columbia University, 2024 Alexander Neave, U.S. Bank
Logan Gillenwater, Indiana University-Bloomington, 2023 Irene Parsuf, AIPAC
Abraham Hersh, Jerusalem College of Technology, 2026 Benjamín Rascon Gracia, University of Notre Dame, 2024
Israel Ingber, University of Chicago, 2028 Mia Li Rodriguez, University of Texas, 2025
Cody Johnson, Houghton University, 2024 Jacob Sundel, Yeshiva University, 2024
Edward Koval, Benedictine College, 2024 Eliana Yang, Juilliard School
Bohan Lou, Tome Moxin Nancy Yu, Center for Strategic Translation
Robert Mack, Indiana University, 2023


Melville’s Moby Dick:

Blake Brawner, University of Texas, 2024 Ben Morgan, St. John’s College Graduate Institute
Dylan Jackson Brintwood, Kenyon College, 2024 Deniz Morova, Swarthmore College, 2024
Emily Burden Rees, ACTA Owen Schmidt, Transylvania University, 2026
Aidan Foucher, Loyola Marymount University, 2024 Yuyao Felix Sun, College of the Holy Cross, 2024
Ella Norah Geiger, Deep Springs College, 2025 Jessie Tagliani, MIT
Thomas Huska, Harvard University, 2026 Kuropatkin Tawil, University of Texas
Emily Jones, Hillsdale College, 2024 Julia Zhou, Princeton University, 2024
James Kirchick, journalist


Wharton’s The House of Mirth:

Moboluwagbe Adesanmi, Villanova University, 2024 Charlotte Nicholas, St. John’s College-Annapolis, 2024
Julia Dan, Harvard University, 2026 Maria Proulx, Dartmouth College, 2026
Michael Donelan, University of Notre Dame, 2025 Bernadette Rechek, University of Minnesota, 2026
James Fraley, Princeton University, 2026 William Rosenberger, Ohio State University, 2023
Kamran Haq, Skidmore College, 2026 Isabella Spanswick, University of Virginia, 2025
Mishel Jovanovska, Bard College Berlin, 2025
Thomas Turmel, Johns Hopkins SAIS
Muthu Meenakshisundaram, University of Minnesota-Morris, 2026 Emma Zuder, Seton Hill University, 2024
Aimee Morrissey, University of Notre Dame, 2024


British Romantic Poetry:

Victoria Avanesov, University of Pennsylvania, 2026 Jacob Ladner, Utah State University, 2024
Andre Brilliant, Stanford University, 2024 Jonathen Loxley, Regent University, 2025
Rebbie Davis, Howard University, 2025 Patrick McDonald, Hillsdale College, 2026
Ainsley Dean, New York University, 2024 Sara Rex, University of Pennsylvania, 2024
Kaila Hall, Cornell University, 2025 Nicholas Rosenbaum, Stanford University, 2024
Mary Christine Helms, Furman University, 2026 Aletheia Underhile, Dakota Wesleyan University, 2025
Adrian Joseph, University of Cape Town, 2022 Zev van Zanten, Duke University, 2026
Coltrane Joseph, Bowdoin College, 2023