Liberal Modernity

Peter Berkowitz

Hertog Foundation | 2016

This course introduces the study of politics by exploring seminal twentieth-century thinkers who sought to grasp the distinctive contours of liberal modernity, or that distinctive form of politics based on the natural freedom and equality of all. Students will read writings by Leo Strauss, Michael Oakeshott, and Alasdair MacIntyre.

Robert Delaunay, The City, 1911